Frequently Asked Questions
We provide abortions up to 35 weeks at our clinic in Maryland. Please keep in mind that abortions after 28 weeks are done on a case by case basis.
- Purses and bags aren’t allowed for safety reasons. You may bring in your phone, wallet, keys, food, drinks, a book or reading device.
- Wear comfortable clothes (layers, a sports bra, and underwear).
- Expect to be in the clinic 2-3 hours if doing the medical abortion. If you are doing the surgical procedure the plan to be here at least 4-6 hours. The times can vary depending on the amount of patients that are coming in and what procedure they are planning to do that day. Plan to be here the majority of the day to be safe.
Please take a shower the morning of your appointment and eat a light breakfast.
We have double door entrance, which is equipped with a metal detector. We do not let anyone in the building without a photo ID. We have a camera system indoors and outdoors surveying the property. We also have a great relationship with the local police and fire department.
Yes. We are medical facility and are required to follow HIPPA regulations just like any other medical office.
Patients can always have their support person(s) with them, with the exception of an initial brief consultation period.
- The medical abortion does involve cramping and heavy bleeding (like an intense period), but you are able to take Tylenol and Ibuprofen.
- IV sedation is provided as a standard for all abortions 18 weeks and over at our Maryland location.
- For the surgical procedures we administer a local anesthetic which numbs your cervix. You do feel pressure from some of the instruments used and may experience cramping during your procedure, but you will not experience intolerable pain. We do our best to manage any discomfort or pain you may feel.
- Twilight IV sedation is available at both of our locations
We do offer IV sedation in both our Nebraska and Maryland clinics.
If you are having an abortion that takes multiple days we strongly encourage to have a support person with you. If this is not possible we can help you navigate options. If you receive IV sedation, you will need a licensed driver to drive you home. If it is not possible for you to bring a licensed driver please call us ahead to make arrangements.
The medical abortion pill is available up to 10 weeks.
D & C (dilation & curettage) – available to all patients under 15 weeks.
D & E (dilation & evacuation) – available for patients between 15 and 22 weeks.
Induction abortions – available for patients who are between 23 weeks and 35 weeks.
Bleeding usually occurs for 2-3 weeks and may be “off and on” for up to 6 weeks. Bleeding can be heavier than a normal period or you could not bleed at all. You also may pass some clots. When you are here for your appointment we will give you a “How Much Am I Bleeding” graphic to take home and educate you on what bleeding is normal and what would be considered concerning.
You may return to normal activity following leaving the clinic. With the medical abortion there are no restrictions following your abortion. If you have a surgical procedure, there is a restriction of nothing in the vagina for 1 week (no tampons, douching, or sex).
- Definition of a Minor: In Nebraska, a minor is anyone under the age of 18 years old who is not married.
- Nebraska’s Parental Notification for Abortion Law (Neb. Rev. Stat. § 71-6902- 6906) Nebraska law requires a minor to obtain notarized legal consent from a parent or guardian before being allowed to have an abortion.
- There are three exceptions: a medical emergency, a situation in which there’s proven abuse or neglect in the home, or a situation in which the court (“Judicial Bypass) agrees that there’s “clear and convincing evidence that the pregnant woman is both sufficiently mature and well-informed to decide whether to have an abortion.”
We have a relationship with local lawyers who do pro bono (free) work in helping minors obtain judicial bypasses in a quick manner. Please contact the clinic at 1(800)737-3845 for further information about this process.
- Definition of a Minor: In Maryland, a minor is anyone under the age of 18 years who is not married or the parent of a child.
Maryland’s Parental Notification for Abortion Law (Article 20-103 of the Maryland Annotated Code)
Maryland law requires that one parent or guardian be notified before a minor has an abortion. The parent/guardian does not need to consent (agree) with the minor’s choice, but does need to know the minor is planning to have an abortion. Maryland’s parental notification law says specifically that no notification is required if, in the judgment of the doctor performing the abortion:
The minor is mature and capable of giving her informed consent to the procedure, OR
Notification would not be in the minor’s best interest, OR
Notice may lead to physical or emotional abuse of the minor, OR
The minor patient does not live with her parent or guardian, OR
A reasonable effort to give notice has been unsuccessful.